Now the Future - 14-18 NOW
14-18 NOW / Programme / Now the Future

Now the Future

Forward Thinking Inspired By 14-18 Now BFI Southbank, NFT1

An afternoon of future thinking inspired by 14-18 NOW, the innovative commissioning programme which has pioneered a new way of marking national moments through the arts.

Gathering artists and policy makers to explore what can be learned from 14-18 NOW, with examples from other cultural programmes in the UK and internationally.

Download 14-18 NOW’s overall summary of evaluation here


John Akomfrah | Dr Maria Balshaw | Chenine Bhathena | Tom DeCaigny | Jeremy Deller | Josephine Burns | Claire Eva | Ekow Eshun | Vikki Heywood | Sunder Katwala | Sir Peter Luff | Ruth Mackenzie | Helen Marriage | Anna Meredith | Sir Nicholas Serota | Cian Smyth | Dan Snow | Debris Stevenson | Magdalena Suarez | Kully Thiarai | Jenny Waldman | Andria Zafirakou


1pm – Lunch & Registration

2pm – Welcome & Reflections from 14-18 NOW

Welcome from Vikki Heywood, Chairman of 14-18 NOW
Messages from our Principal Funders: Secretary of State (DCMS), Sir Peter Luff (National Lottery Heritage Fund), Sir Nicholas Serota (Arts Council England),
14-18 NOW – Reflections on 14-18 NOW: Vikki Heywood (14-18 NOW)
14-18 NOW – Making National Moments: Jenny Waldman (14-18 NOW)
Artists’ Perspectives: John Akomfrah (Artist), Jeremy Deller (Artist), Anna Meredith (Artist)
Chaired by: Ekow Eshun (Writer and Curator)
Legacy & Lessons for Polarised Times: Dr Maria Balshaw (Tate), Josephine Burns (Cultural Commentator), Sunder Katwala (British Future) and Cian Smyth (Ulster University)
Chaired by: Ekow Eshun (Writer and Curator)

Tea and coffee break

4.20pm – Now the Future

Engaging Audiences: Claire Eva (14-18 NOW)
The Next Wave: Chenine Bhathena (Coventry City of Culture), Kully Thiarai (National Theatre Wales), Tom DeCaigny (City and County of San Francisco), Magdalena Suarez (Ministry of Culture, Buenos Aires). Chaired by Ruth Mackenzie (Theatre du Châtalet)
In association with World Cities Forum
Future Provocations: Dan Snow (Historian and Broadcaster), Debris Stevenson (Artist and Performer), Helen Marriage (Artichoke), and Andria Zafirakou (2018 Global Teacher Prize winner)
Closing comments – Vikki Heywood (14-18 NOW)

6-8pm – Conversations & Drinks Reception

The Next Wave is in association with


To get in touch with any questions please contact Nadia Vistisen, Events and External Relations Manager on or 020 7091 3115.